Submarine Institute of Australia

7th Submarine Science, Technology and Engineering Conference (SubSTEC7)

18-20 September 2023 Adelaide Convention Centre




The Report to Government by the Nuclear Powered Submarine Task Force, in March of this year, will address the acquisition by Australia of nuclear-powered submarines.


The transition from COLLINS Class to nuclear powered attack submarines (SSN) will be a demanding and complex endeavour requiring a radical shift in strategic planning for the future Australian submarine force.


The Submarine Institute of Australia (SIA) SubSTEC7 (18-20 September 2023, Adelaide Convention Centre) will focus on the unique and unprecedented challenges associated with this transition.


The SIA invites Australian and international government agencies, maritime academic research and industry organisations to participate in the conference and to contribute papers aligned with the conference theme of:  






The participation we seek for the conference includes:

  • Australian and International submarine enterprise participants - government, industrial and academic – engaged in the full technical architecture to design, construct, support and operate an Australian nuclear-powered submarine force.
  • Nuclear regulators and/or organisations who support the design of regulatory systems.
  • Australian and International shipbuilding and repair organisations
  • Maritime materials organisations involved in nuclear-powered submarine construction and sustainment.
  • Organisations involved in nuclear fuel production, storage, transportation, and waste management.
  • Organisations involved in undersea warfare technologies, including future conventional weapons systems and uncrewed vehicles capable of being employed in Australian submarines.


The SIA is seeking proposals for previously unpublished papers which predominantly address the Science, Technology and Engineering opportunities and challenges associated with securing and projecting power from the undersea domain.

Papers may focus on challenges and opportunities related to sustaining and enhancing Collins, transitioning to and operating SSNs or other technologies that primarily operate from or secure the undersea domain.


The full call for papers is here


The abstract submission link is here


This first call is for abstracts of up to 250 words that summarize the proposed papers.These will be reviewed then authors of selected abstracts will be invited to submit full papers in the prescribed template format for peer-review.


Review comments will be provided to the author who must register for live attendance at the conference.


Final camera-ready papers will then be required by a deadline sufficient for printing of the proceedings to be available before the conference.


Authors will also be invited to provide PowerPoint slides to be used for oral presentation of their paper. Poster presentation will also be possible.


Registration fees for attendance at the conference (but not the social and other events) will be waived for one person to present each paper.



SIA Conferences
General Information
Fees / Costs
Sponsorship & Advertising

SIA Conference Partners

© Copyright Submarine Institute Australia